Anguttara Nikaya

[Site Map]  [Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]

The Pali is transliterated as IAST Unicode (āīūṃṅñṭḍṇḷ). Alternatives:
[ ASCII (aiumnntdnl) | Velthuis (aaiiuu.m'n~n.t.d.n.l) ]


Aŋguttara Nikāya
IX. Sīti Vagga

The Book of the Gradual Sayings
The Book of the Sixes
Chapter IX: The Cool

Sutta 93

Dutiya Abhabbaṭṭhāna Suttaɱ

Any Phenomenon

Translated from the Pali by E.M. Hare.

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1] Thus have I heard:

Once the Exalted One was dwelling near Sāvatthī,
at Jeta Grove,
in Anāthapiṇḍika's Park.

There the Exalted One addressed the monks, saying:


'Yes, lord,' they replied,
and the Exalted One said:

'Monks, there are these six occasions which cannot become.

What six?

Hare's translation of the last item is misleading. In several places persons who have become streamwinners are urged to continue to give gifts to other teachers as previously, and we are told that even scraping the dinner scraps into the sewer with the idea of feeding the creatures living there will result in good kamma. The idea is 'to honor by way of a gift'. Elsewhere this is rendered as being incapable of honoring by placing faith in some other teacher than the Buddha.

p.p. explains it all — p.p.

One who has achieved right view
cannot become one who will accept any phenomenon as permanent,
one who has achieved right view
cannot accept any phenomenon as happiness,
one who has achieved right view
cannot accept any thing as self,
one who has achieved right view
cannot do an unpardonable act,
one who has achieved right view
cannot fall back on curious ceremonies[1] for purification,
one who has achieved right view
cannot seek outside (the Order) for a gift-worthy.'

Verily, monks, these are the six occasions which cannot become.'


[1] Above V, Ī 175.

Copyright Statement