Anguttara Nikaya

[Site Map]  [Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]

The Pali is transliterated as Velthuis (aaiiuu.m'n~n.t.d.n.l). Alternatives:
[ ASCII (aiumnntdnl) | IAST Unicode (āīūṃṅñṭḍṇḷ) ]


XVII: Pa.tipadaa Vagga

The Book of the Gradual Sayings
The Book of the Fours
Chapter XVII: Modes of Progress[1]

Sutta 161

[Modes of Progress] In Brief

Translated from the Pali by f. L. Woodward, M.A.

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1][ati][ed1] 'Monks, there are these four modes of progress.

What four?

The painful mode of progress with sluggish intuition,[2]
the painful mode with swift intuition,
the pleasant mode of progress with sluggish intuition,
the pleasant mode with swift intuition.

These are the four modes of progress.'


[1] Cf. Dial. iii, 101; Buddh. Psych. Eth. 63, 54; Expos. i, 243 f.

[2] Abhi~n~na = 'more-knowledge' or 'psyohio power.'


[ed1] No Nidana for this sutta or section of suttas.

Copyright Statement