Samyutta Nikaya Masthead

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Saɱyutta Nikāya
5. Mahā-Vagga
48. Indriya Saɱyutta
1. Suddhika Vagga

Sutta 4

Paṭhama Araha Suttaɱ

The Arahant

Translated from the Pali by Thanissaro Bhikkhu.
Sourced from the edition at
Provenance, terms and conditons



[1][pts] "Monks, there are these five faculties.

Which five?

The faculty of conviction, the faculty of persistence, the faculty of mindfulness, the faculty of concentration, the faculty of discernment.

When — having discerned, as they have come to be, the origination, the passing away, the allure, the drawbacks, and the escape from these five faculties — a monk is released from lack of clinging/sustenance, he is called an arahant whose effluents are ended, who has reached fulfillment, done the task, laid down the burden, attained the true goal, laid to waste the fetter of becoming, and who is released through right gnosis."


Copyright Statement