Aṅguttara Nikāya

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Aṅguttara Nikāya
Pañcaka Nipāta
10. Kakudha Vagga

The Book of the Gradual Sayings
The Book of the Fives
Chapter X: Kakudha

Sutta 94

Phāsu-Vihāra Suttaɱ


Translated by E. M. Hare

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1] Thus have I heard:

Once the Exalted One dwelt near Sāvatthī;
and there he addressed the monks, saying:


'Yes, lord,' they replied;
and the Exalted One said:

"Monks, there are these five abodes of comfort.[1]

What five?

Herein, monks, a monk, aloof from sensuous appetites,
aloof from evil ideas,
enters and abides in the first musing,
wherein applied and sustained thought works,
which is born of solitude
and is full of joy and ease.

Suppressing applied and sustained thought,
he enters and abides in the second musing,
which is self-evolved,
born of concentration,
full of zest and ease,
free from applied and sustained thought,
and there the mind becomes calm and one-pointed.

Free from the fervour of zest,
mindful and self-possessed,
he enters and abides in the third musing,
and experiences in his being
that ease whereof the Ariyans declare:
'He that is tranquil and mindful dwells at ease.

Putting away ease
and by putting away ill,
by the passing away of happiness and misery
he was wont to feel,
he enters and abides in the fourth musing,
which is utter purity of mindfulness,
which comes of disinterestedness
and is free of ease and ill.

By the destruction of the cankers,
he enters and abides in
the realization of mind-emancipation
and insight-emancipation,
which is free of the cankers,
fully comprehending those states himself,
even in this world.

Monks, these are the five abodes of comfort.'


[1] Cf. below V, § 105.

Copyright Statement