Aṅguttara Nikāya

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Aṅguttara Nikāya
VIII. Aṭṭhaka Nipāta
VII. Bhūmi-Cāla Vagga

The Book of the Gradual Sayings
VIII. The Book of the Eights
Chapter VII: On Earthquakes

Sutta 68

Ariya-Vohāra Suttaɱ

Ariyan Practices

Translated from the Pali by E.M. Hare.

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1] Thus have I heard:

Once the Exalted One was dwelling near Sāvatthī.

There the Exalted One addressed the monks, saying:


"Yes, lord," they replied, and the Exalted One said:

"Monks, there are these eight Ariyan practices.

What eight?

Declaring as seen what has been seen;
declaring as heard what has been heard;
declaring as felt what has been felt;
declaring as understood what has been understood;
declaring as not seen what has not been seen;
declaring as not heard what has not been heard;
declaring as not felt what has not been felt;
declaring as not understood what has not been understood.

Monks, these are the eight Ariyan practices."

Copyright Statement