Samyutta Nikaya Masthead

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Saɱyutta Nikāya
4. Saḷāyatana Vagga
36. Vedanā Saɱyutta
3. Aṭṭha-Sata-Pariyāya Vagga

The Book of the Kindred Sayings
4. The Book Called the Saḷāyatana-Vagga
Containing Kindred Sayings on the 'Six-Fold Sphere' of Sense and Other Subjects
36. Kindred Sayings about Feeling
3. The Method of the Hundred and Eight

Sutta 25

Bhikkhunā Suttaɱ

By A Brother

Translated by F. L. Woodward
Edited by Mrs. Rhys Davids

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1][bodh] Thus have I heard:

Once a number of brethren came to see the Exalted One
on coming to him greeted him courteously,
and after the exchange of greetings and compliments
sat down at one side.

Seated at one side those brethren said this: -

"What, lord, are the feelings?

What the arising of feelings?

What is the way leading to the arising of feelings?

What is the ceasing of feelings?

What is the way leading to their ceasing?

What is the satisfaction,
the misery of feelings,
what is the way of escape from feelings?"

"There are these three feelings, brethren:
pleasant feelings,
painful feelings
and neutral feelings.

These, brethren, are called
'the three feelings.'

From the arising of contact
comes the arising of feelings.

Craving is the way
leading to the arising of feelings.

By the ceasing of contact
comes the ceasing of feeling.

This Ariyan Eightfold Path, to wit:

Right belief,
right intention,
right speech,
right action,
right living,
right effort,
right mindfulness,
right contemplation,
is the way leading to the ceasing of feelings.

The pleasure and happiness
which arise owing to feeling, -
that is the satisfaction in feeling.

The misery of feeling
is the impermanence,
the pain,
the unsubstantial nature of feeling.

The abolishing of desire and lust,
the abandoning of desire and lust, -
that is the escape from feelings."

Copyright Statement