Samyutta Nikaya Masthead

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Saɱyutta Nikāya
5. Mahā-Vagga
48. Indriya Saɱyutta
3. Chaḷ-Indriya Vagga

The Book of the Kindred Sayings
5. The Great Chapter
48. Kindred Sayings on the Faculties
3. The Six Faculties

Sutta 27

Paṭhama Arahatā Suttaɱ

Arahant[1] or Enlightened (a)

Translated by F. L. Woodward
Edited by Mrs. Rhys Davids

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1] THUS have I heard:

Once the Exalted One was staying near Sāvatthī.

Then the Exalted One addressed the monks,


"Yes, lord," replied those monks to the Exalted One.

The Exalted One said:

"Monks, there are these six sense-faculties.

What six?

The sense-faculty of eye,
the sense-faculty of ear,
the sense-faculty of nose,
the sense-faculty of tongue,
the sense-faculty of body
the sense-faculty of mind.

These are the six sense faculties.




When a monk,[2] by seeing,
as they really are,
the arising
and the perishing of,
the satisfaction in,
the misery of
and the escape from
these six sense-faculties,
becomes released without grasping, -
such a monk is called 'Arahant,
in whom the āsavas are destroyed,
one who has lived the life,
done the task,
lifted the burden,
a winner of his own welfare,
one who has outworn the fetters of rebirth,
one released by perfect insight.'"


[1] Text arahatā for arahā.

'Monk'. The problem is translating this term 'monk.' A 'bhikkhu' is described as one who leads the life, wheher or not a member of the worldly sangha. Cf. AN 1.394 ff.

p.p. explains it all — p.p.

[2] N.B. 'monk' not 'Ariyan disciple,' because the life has to be lived by such, in order to attain. (This, of course, is from a monkish point of view.)

Copyright Statement