Samyutta Nikaya Masthead

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Saɱyutta Nikāya
4. Saḷāyatana Vagga
35. Saḷāyatana Saɱyutta
§ I: Mūla-Paññāsa
1. Anicca Vagga Paṭhama

The Connected Discourses of the Buddha
IV. The Book of the Six Sense Bases
35: Connected Discourses on the Six Sense Bases
The Root Fifty
1. The Impermanent

Sutta 8

Dutiya Ajjhatta Dukkha Suttaɱ (Dukkham 3; Ajjhattam)

The Internal as Suffering in the Three Times

Translated by Bhikkhu Bodhi

Copyright Bhikkhu Bodhi 2000, The Connected Discourses of the Buddha (Wisdom Publications, 2000)
This selection from The Connected Discourses of the Buddha: A Translation of the Saɱyutta Nikāya by Bhikkhu Bodhi is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at


[4] [1136]

[1][pts] At Sāvatthī.

"Bhikkhus, the eye is suffering, both of the past and the future, not to speak of the present.

Seeing thus ...

The mind is suffering ...

for its fading away and cessation."


Copyright Statement