Samyutta Nikaya Masthead

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Saɱyutta Nikāya
3. Khandha Vagga
22. Khandha Saɱyutta
11. Anta Vagga

The Book of the Kindred Sayings
3. The Book Called the Khandhā-Vagga
Containing Kindred Sayings on the Elements of Sensory Existence and other Subjects
22. Kindred Sayings on Elements
11. On Separates

Sutta 104

Dukkha Suttaɱ


Translated by F. L. Woodward
Edited by Mrs. Rhys Davids

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1] Thus have I heard:

The Exalted One was once staying near Sāvatthī
at the Jeta Grove in Anāthapiṇḍika's Park.

And there the Exalted One addressed the brethren, saying:


"Master!" responded those brethren.

The Exalted One said:

"Brethren, I will teach you suffering,
the arising of suffering,
the ceasing of suffering,
the way leading to the ceasing of suffering.

Do ye listen to it.

And what, brethren, is suffering?

It is to be called the five grasping groups.

What five?

The body-grasping-group,
the feeling-grasping-group,
the perception-grasping-group,
the the activities-grasping-group,
the consciousness-grasping-group.

This, brethren, is called suffering.

And what, brethren, is the arising of suffering?

It is that craving which,
accompanied by lure and lust,
leads downward to rebirth,
to wit:

Feeling. Woodward is here translating 'kāma' (generally sense-pleasures) as feeling which has been to this point his translation of 'vedana' (sense-experience).

p.p. explains it all — p.p.

the craving for feeling,
the craving for rebirth,
the craving for no rebirth.

This, brethren, is called the arising of suffering.

And what, brethren, is the ceasing of suffering?

It is the utter passionless ceasing,
the giving up,
the abandonment of,
the release from,
the freedom from
attachment to,
that craving.

This, brethren, is called the ceasing of suffering.

And what, brethren,
is the way going to
the ceasing of suffering?

It is this Ariyan Eightfold Path, to wit:

[135] Right view,
right aims,
right speech,
right action,
right living,
right effort,
right mindfulness,
right concentration.

This, brethren, is called the way going to the ceasing of suffering."

Copyright Statement