Samyutta Nikaya Masthead

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Saɱyutta Nikāya
4. Saḷāyatana Vagga
43. Asaṅkhata Saɱyutta
1. Paṭhama Vagga

The Book of the Kindred Sayings
4. The Book Called the Saḷāyatana-Vagga
Containing Kindred Sayings on the 'Six-Fold Sphere' of Sense and Other Subjects
43. Kindred Sayings about Uncompounded
1. Part 1

Sutta 5

Sati-Paṭṭhāna Suttaɱ

Stations of Mindfulness[1]

Translated by F. L. Woodward
Edited by Mrs. Rhys Davids

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1][bodh] Thus have I heard:

The Exalted One was once staying near Sāvatthī.

Then the Exalted One addressed the brethren, saying:


"Lord," responded those brethren to the Exalted One.

The Exalted One thus spake:

"I will teach you, Brethren, the Uncompounded
and the path that goes to the Uncompounded.

Do ye listen to it.

And what, Brethren, is the Uncompounded?

The destruction of lust, Brethren,
the destruction of hatred,
the destruction of illusion, -
that is called the Uncompounded.

And what, Brethren, is the path
that goes to the Uncompounded?

The four stations of mindfulness.

That, Brethren, is called
'the path that goes to the Uncompounded.'

Thus, Brethren, have I taught ye the Uncompounded.

Thus have I taught ye the way that goes to the Uncompounded.

Whatever should be done
by a teacher that seeks the welfare of his disciples,
in compassion,
feeling compassion,
that have I done for you.

Here, Brethren, are the roots of trees.

Here are empty places.

Do you meditate.

Be not remiss.

Be not remorseful hereafter.

This is our instruction to you.


[1] Sati-paṭṭhānā, of body, feelings, mind, and phenomena. Cf. K.S. iii, 81, for these 37 items (v-xi summed), called bodhipakkhiyā dhammā.

Copyright Statement