Aṅguttara Nikāya


Aṅguttara Nikāya
VIII. Aṭṭhaka Nipāta
IV. Dāna Vagga

The Numerical Discourses of the Buddha
VIII. The Book of the Eights
IV. Giving

Sutta 33

Dāna-Vatthu Suttaɱ


Translated from the Pali by Bhikkhu Bodhi.

© 2012 Bhikkhu Bodhi
Published by
Wisdom Publications
Boston, MA 02115

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License
Based on a work at http://www.wisdompubs.org/book/numerical-discourses-buddha
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://www.wisdompubs.org/terms-use.


[236] [1166]

[1][pts][olds]"Bhikkhus, there are these eight grounds for giving.

What eight?

(1) One gives a gift from desire.

(2) One gives a gift from hatred.

(3) One gives a gift from delusion.

(4) One gives a gift from fear.

(5) One gives a gift, [thinking]:

'Giving was practiced before by my father and forefathers; I should not abandon this ancient family custom.'

(6) One gives a gift, [thinking]:

'Having given this gift, with the breakup of the body, after death, I will be reborn in a good destination, in a heavenly world.'

(7) One gives a gift, [thinking]:

'When I am giving this gift my mind becomes placid, [237] and elation and joy arise.'

(8) One gives a gift for the purpose of ornamenting the mind, equipping the mind.

These are the eight grounds for giving."

Copyright Statement