Samyutta Nikaya Masthead

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Saɱyutta Nikāya
4. Saḷāyatana Vagga
36. Vedanā Saɱyutta
1. Sagāthā Vagga

The Connected Discourses of the Buddha
IV. The Book of the Six Sense Bases
36: Connected Discourses on Feeling
1. With Verses

Sutta 5

Daṭṭhabba Suttaɱ

Should Be Seen

Translated by Bhikkhu Bodhi

Copyright Bhikkhu Bodhi 2000, The Connected Discourses of the Buddha (Wisdom Publications, 2000)
This selection from The Connected Discourses of the Buddha: A Translation of the Saɱyutta Nikāya by Bhikkhu Bodhi is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at


[207] [1263]

[1][pts][nypo] "Bhikkhus, there are these three feelings.

What three?

Pleasant feeling, painful feeling, neither-painful-nor-pleasant feeling.

Pleasant feeling, bhikkhus, should be seen as painful; painful feeling should be seen as a dart; neither-painful-nor-pleasant feeling should be seen as impermanent.

"When, bhikkhus, a bhikkhu has seen pleasant feeling as painful, painful feeling as a dart, and neither-painful-nor-pleasant feeling as impermanent, he is called a bhikkhu who sees rightly.

He has cut off craving, severed the fetters, and by completely breaking through conceit, he has made an end to suffering."

One who has seen the pleasant as painful
And the painful as a dart,
Seen as impermanent the peaceful feeling
Neither painful nor pleasant:
He is a bhikkhu who sees rightly,
One who fully understands feelings.

Having fully understood feelings,
He is taintless in this very life.
Standing in Dhamma, with the body's breakup
The knowledge-master cannot be reckoned.

Copyright Statement