Samyutta Nikaya Masthead

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Saɱyutta Nikāya
4. Saḷāyatana Vagga
36. Vedanā Saɱyutta
2. Raho-Gata Vagga

Sutta 16

Dutiya Santakam (aka Ānanda) Suttaɱ

Ānanda 2

Translated by Bhikkhu Bodhi

Copyright Bhikkhu Bodhi 2000, The Connected Discourses of the Buddha (Wisdom Publications, 2000)
This selection from The Connected Discourses of the Buddha: A Translation of the Saɱyutta Nikāya by Bhikkhu Bodhi is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at



[1][pts] Then the Venerable Ānandaapproached the Blessed One, paid homage to him, and sat down to one side.

The Blessed One then said to the Venerable Ānandaas he was sitting to one side:

"Ānanda, what now is feeling?

What is the origin of feeling?

What is the cessation of feeling?

What is the way leading to the cessation of feeling?

What is the gratification in feeling?

What is the danger?

What is the escape?"

"Venerable sir, our teachings are rooted in the Blessed One, guided by the Blessed One, take recourse in the Blessed One.

It would be good if the Blessed One would clear up the meaning of this statement.

Having heard it from him, the bhikkhus will remember it."

"Then listen and attend closely, Ānanda. I will speak."

"Yes, venerable sir," the Venerable Ānandareplied.

The Blessed One said this:

"Ānanda, these three feelings — pleasant feeling, painful feeling, neither-painful-nor-pleasant feeling — are called feeling.

With the arising of contact there is the arising of feeling.

With the cessation of contact there is the cessation of feeling.

This Noble Eightfold Path is the way leading to the cessation of feeling; that is, right view ... right concentration.[ed1]

The pleasure and joy that arise in dependence on feeling: this is the gratification in feeling.

That feeling is impermanent, suffering, and subject to change: this is the danger in feeling.

The removal and abandonment of desire and lust for feeling: this is the escape from feeling.

"Then, Ānanda, I have also taught the successive cessation of formations ... (as in §11) ....

For a bhikkhu whose taints are destroyed, lust has been tranquillized, hatred has been tranquillized, delusion has been tranquillized."


[ed1] Elsewhere completed: right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right concentration.

Copyright Statement