Aṅguttara Nikāya

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Aṅguttara Nikāya
IV. Catukka Nipāta
II. Cara Vagga

The Book of the Gradual Sayings
The Book of the Fours
Chapter II: Deportment

Sutta 15

Paññatti Suttaɱ


Translated from the Pali by F. L. Woodward, M.A.

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.



[1][bodh] Thus have I heard:

On a certain occasion the Exalted One was staying near Sāvatthī.

Then the Exalted One addressed the monks, saying:


"Yes, lord," they replied, and the Exalted One said:

"Monks, there are these four chief types (of beings).

What four?

Chief of those who have personality is[2] Rahu, lord of the Asuras.

Chief of those who are given to the pleasures of sense is Mandhātā[3] the rajah.

Chief of those who have lordship is Māra the Wicked One.

In the world of Devas, Māras and Brahmās, together with recluses and brahmins, devas and mankind, a Tathāgata is reckoned chief, an Arahant, a perfectly Enlightened One.

These, monks, are the four chief types.

Rahu is chief of persons: chief of those
Enjoying sense-delights is Mandhātā:
Māra is chief of those who lordship own:
With power and glory[4] is he radiant.
Above, across, and back again returning,
Whatever be one's bourn in all the world,[5]
Of world and devas chief is held a Buddha.'


[1] Paññattiyo.

[2] Attabhāvin.

[3] Cf. JA. ii, 310; Mil. 115; Thag. 485.

[4] Text should read yasasā for yassā.

[5] Cf. supra, § 2.

Copyright Statement