Aṅguttara Nikāya

[Home]  [Sutta Indexes]  [Glossology]  [Site Sub-Sections]


Aṅguttara Nikāya
X. Dasaka-Nipāta
II. Nātha Vagga

The Book of the Gradual Sayings
X. The Book of the Tens
II: Things Making for Warding

Sutta 19

Paṭhama Āriya-Vāsa Suttaɱ

Ariyan Living (a)

Translated from the Pali by F. L. Woodward, M.A.

Copyright The Pali Text Society
Commercial Rights Reserved
Creative Commons Licence
For details see Terms of Use.


[29] [21]

[1][bodh] Thus have I heard:

On a certain occasion the Exalted One was staying near Sāvatthī.

There the Exalted One addressed the monks, saying:


"Yes, lord," they replied, and the Exalted One said:

2. "Monks, there are these ten ways of Ariyan living,[1]
according to which Ariyans have lived,
do live
and shall live.

What ten?

Herein a monk has abandoned five factors,
is possessed of six factors,
guards one factor,
observes the four bases,[2]
has shaken off individual[3] belief,
has utterly given up longings,
his thoughts are unclouded,
his body-complex is tranquillized,
he is well released in heart,
he is well released by insight.

These are the ten ways of Ariyan living,
according to which Ariyans have lived,
do live
and shall live."


[1] This summary of qualities, detailed in the following sutta, is at D. iii, 269 = Dialog. iii, 247, where see Mrs. Rhys Davids' Introduction to Sangīti-sutta or recital, which refers to its being in Aṅguttara style. The list is recommended to the monks of Magadha by Asoka in the Bhabra Edict Rock-Inscription; cf. Vincent Smith's Asoka, pp. 31, 143; Sakya, p. 406 ff.

[2] Catur-āpasseno (= apassaya, a pillow or cushion, Comy.). Cf. Dialog. iii, 216 n.

[3] Cf. G.S. ii, 47.

Copyright Statement